Every little bit of improvement is great news and we are cheering Otto on!

01-05-2016 22:20

Otto went outside and actually trotted a few steps...trotting is his normal gait that he is comfortable with. You rarely see him walk. His tail was even up instead of between his legs. He didn't even react when a man walked by and that would never happen if he felt good, but I am still happy for even a little improvement. Still no drinking or eating but I am using a syringe to get his meds and some congee soup down him. Still obviously doesn't feel well but at least we woke up better than yesterday. I'll take that right now.

...My prayer that Otto improves today has been answered. I was in the kitchen warming up some of his soup and adding a little cooked, minced chicken Gloria and Tammy gave me and there he was, standing there watching to see what I was cooking!! He really wanted the minced chicken alone but he's not ready for that yet so I was able to bribe him to lap up almost a cup of soup. First time I haven't had to force him to eat. He is hungry and wants to eat...a good sign. I was told that it could get messy once he starts eating but I can handle it as long as he is improving. I have him off IV fluids now until the vet tech gets here and we will evaluate then whether to put him back on it for the afternoon. Thanks, once again, for your prayers...

...Otto loves this raised bed and it is perfect in the crate with him tied to the IV. He's not feeling well enough to bother his incision or catheter yet so no cone....yet. I am hopeful that will change soon as proof he is really on the mend. The vet tech got him to eat a little rice and chicken but still not much appetite...